New Delhi (Adarsh Jha ): In a recent political move, BJP has pulled out of the J&K government. BJP leader Ram Madhav told the press that it is untenable for the alliance to continue. Mehbooba Mufti the present Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir has resigned. The state is now under President’s rule. Governor NN Vohra will be in charge of the state. The decision is in the wake of Ramzan ceasefire failure. A move for which Central Govt. faced a lot of criticism from security experts. Also, there were disagreements regarding the withdrawals of FIR against stone pelters.

In 2014 assembly elections were conducted in J&K. The results led to a hung assembly. In 87 member legislative assembly the results were:
BJP: 25
PDP: 28
J&KNC: 15
INC: 12
J&KPC: 2
CPI(M): 1
PDF: 1
Independents: 3
BJP received 23% of total votes whereas PDP received 22.7% votes.
Post elections BJP and PDP formed an alliance. Ram Madhav played an important role in forming the alliance. MM Sayeed became the Chief Minister. After his unfortunate demise in 2016, Mehbooba Mufti became the Chief Minister.

In recent times the way Mehbooba handled law & order, militancy and radicalisation were disappointing. There was a deep discontent within BJP as they only got MoS portfolio in J&K government with the exception of Kavinder Gupta (Deputy CM).
This move will surely give the army a free hand in the valley.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *